‘Wakanda Forever’ trailer teases new Black Panther

Wakanda forever, indeed.

The first trailer of “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” — which debuted at the San Diego Comic-Con in July — featured the mournful strains of Bob Marley’s “No Woman, No Cry” (as covered by Nigerian singer Tems) in memory of Chadwick Boseman, the star of the 2018 blockbuster “Black Panther,” who shockingly died from colon cancer at 43 in 2020.

And the new trailer for the much-anticipated Marvel sequel, released on Monday, shows that Wakanda — and the Black Panther — will live on. At the very end of the trailer, the new Black Panther makes her entrance — yes, it appears to be a woman! But the identity of the person behind that masked armor is not revealed.

The trailer also features a mural honoring the late King T’Challa — and, of course, Boseman — whose character was killed off rather than being recast for “Wakanda Forever.”

Black Panther
The new “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” trailer doesn’t reveal who is behind the masked armor of iron after King T’Challa’s death, but it appears to be a woman.
©Walt Disney Co./courtesy Evere

“They have lost their protector,” says Angela Bassett’s Queen Ramonda as Wakanda faces a new threat from the underground nation Talokan, with Tenoch Huerta playing aquatic enemy Namor.

But of course, Wakanda isn’t going down without a fight. “Now is our time to strike… Show them who we are,” Queen Ramonda declares.

Letitia Wright in "Black Panther: Wakanda Forever."
Letitia Wright returns as Shuri in “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever,” out Nov. 11.
©Walt Disney Co./Courtesy Evere

The Ryan Coogler-directed “Black Panther” sequel — which also finds Lupita Nyong’o, Letitia Wright and Danai Gurira returning as Nakia, Shuri and Okoye, respectively — hits theaters on Nov. 11. And the new film also welcomes Dominique Thorne to the fold as Riri Williams, a k a Ironheart.

Not only did 2018’s “Black Panther” become a cultural phenomenon, raking in over $700 million in the United States and Canada, but it was nominated for seven Academy Awards, becoming the first superhero movie to vie for the Best Picture Oscar.